Jigawa State College of Education, Gumel.

The College was established in April 1976 with its temporary site in Kano until 25th of February, 1980 when it was transferred to its permanent site at Gumel under the directive of the Kano State civilian Governor then, later the College administration was centralized with six other Colleges under the then Kano State Institute for Higher Education on the 1st July, 1987. The then Kano State College of Education consisting of former Advanced Teachers’ College Gumel and Kumbotso, Kano were established under the Kano State Colleges of Education edict of 1987.


Our Story

The creation of Jigawa State out of Kano State automatically converted the College to Jigawa State on the 24th of December, 1991. The edict establishing the College was promulgated in 1992. The College aspires to become a centre of excellence which prepares high quality teachers for the basic education schools in Jigawa State.


Produce competent, reliable and discipline teachers in a peaceful and harmonious academic environment with exemplary and transparent leadership in order to accelerate community development, integrating the interest of the college with that of the society through the use of the computerized record system for easy information accessibility.


Jigawa State College of Education Gumel, aspires to become a center of excellence for the preparation of high quality teachers for the schools of Jigawa state.


It is responsible for the overall management of the College. It is the highest decision making body in the College charged with the responsibility of executing decisions and policies which have financial implications as well as others which concern the conditions of service. The Council also has the power to control the property of the College. Provost is a member and the Registrar usually serves as the Secretary.


The SERVICOM office in the Presidency has recently commended the College for quality service delivery.

The College had emerged Third (3rd) position out of the Twenty-One (21) Federal Colleges of Education and the FCT College of Education that were evaluated during the SERVICOM Compliance Evaluation (SCE) exercise conducted in 2019.

Likewise in 2020, the College ranked 5th position out of the 21 Federal Colleges of Education assessed by the Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation in collaboration with the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) during an assessment exercise of Federal Ministries, Departments and Agencies’ compliance with provisions of the Public Procurement Act among other indicators.

Similarly, the erstwhile College Governing Council also commended the landmark transformation of physical and infrastructural facilities witnessed on the Campus, the unprecedented turn over in the number of Ph. Ds and Masters Degrees and expansion in academic programmes.


The Rectorate: The Rectorate coordinates activities of all other departments, units and sub-units of the Institution. It also ensure the smooth and efficient operation between the Polytechnic and the state government, the NUC, NBTE, NCCE and other agencies. Seven other units operate directly under the Rector.

The Registry:  The Registry which forms the core of the Polytechnic’s Administration is:-

(i)        Responsible to the Rector for the day-to-day administration of the institution and performs such other duties as the Council, as the case may be, the Rector may from time to time direct.

(ii)       Responsible for keeping custody of the vital records of the Polytechnic.

The Bursary Department : The department is responsible for management and control of the Finance of the institution. It performs its functions through the various sections under it. The Bursary department is headed by the Bursar of the Polytechnic. He is assisted by the Bursary staffs who manage the various sections of the department.

The Works & Maintenance Unit: The works and maintenance unit is a service department of the Polytechnic. It has the following sections under it:- Maintenance Auto-mechanic, Civil and Electrical Units, Fire service unit. The department is headed by the Director with a complement of the senior, intermediate and junior staff.

The Library Unit: The library is headed by Chief librarian who is both a member of the management and the academic Board. The Polytechnic has two (2) library complexes with one located in each of the two (2) campuses in Bauchi and Azare servicing both staff and students. There are also other library staff who are ever ready to assist students with their problems.

The rules and regulations governing the use of the library are spelt out elsewhere in this Book.

The Directorate of Medical Services: The Polytechnic has a Clinic which is located in the main Campus. The clinic is open for 24 hours and the unit is headed by Medical Director who is a member of the Management Committee. It provides Medical and Surgical Services on regular and emergency basis.


First Name Last Name

Firstname Lastname
(Dep. Provost)

Firstname Lastname

Firstname Lastname

Firstname lastname

Firstname Lastname
(ICT Director)